Websites and reference sources from the library are a good place to start to get background information on your topic. Use them to learn more about key events, people, and concepts, and to help you identify keywords for further searching.
To access these resources from off campus, you will need to log in using your Pipeline username and password.
Black Literature Criticism by
Focuses on writers and works published since 1950. The majority of the authors surveyed are African American, but representative African and Caribbean authors are also included.
Contemporary American Ethnic Poets by
Celebrates the lives and works of 75 significant poets.
Encyclopedia of African-American Heritage by
Offers a wealth of information on both African and African American history, politics, culture, people, and places. Entries describe the rich tapestry woven by Africans, from those who remained on their ancestral continent, to those who were forced to leave their homes, and to the great strides being made by African Americans today.
Encyclopedia of African American Popular Culture by
Contains information on key places, events, and people in African American popular culture. Includes a chronology placing pivotal events in historical context and a list of black radio programs and movies.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
Minorities by
Examines the differences between minority groups and white Americans across the economic, political, and social spectrums. Explores the experience of African-Americans, Hispanics, Native Americans, Asian-Americans, and other minority groups living in the United States.
Who's Who Among African Americans by
Provides biographical and career details on notable African American individuals, including leaders from sports, the arts, business, religion and other fields.
The following video tutorial explores the pros and cons of using Google and Wikipedia for research, and how to transition from Google and Wikipedia to Google Scholar and library databases (from off campus you will need to log in using your Pipeline username and password):
Depending on your topic, the following websites about African American History and Culture may provide relevant background information.
You can also use Google to search for information on your topic. Use the source evaluation process on the "Evaluating Sources" page to make sure the sources you choose are credible.
The following tutorial examines how to identify, find, and use background information to help you choose and/or refine your topic (from off campus you will need to log in using your Pipeline username and password):
