Research Guides: Communication Studies: Background Info

Reference Databases

Encyclopedias and other reference books are an excellent starting point for your research. They can provide background information and help you identify keywords to use when searching for books and articles.

To access databases from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedias and specialized reference books covering all major subject areas.

Examples of Communication Articles in Credo

Explore the communication articles listed below or try searching other keywords in Credo Reference:

Online Reference Sources

Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies by James Watson; Anne Hill
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015
In this 9th edition, Watson and Hill provide a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass-media and internet communication that continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives.
Introduction to Communication Studies by John Fiske
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010
This classic text provides a lucid, accessible introduction to the main authorities in the field of communication studies, aimed at students coming to the subject for the first time. It outlines a range of methods of analysing examples of communication, and describes the theories underpinning them.