Research Guides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Find OER

Luria Library Resources

SBCC Luria Library pays for faculty and students to have free access to thousands of academic journals and eBooks available in our subscription databases. While not “open” these materials are available free of charge to SBCC students and faculty. See the list of databases available to you by browsing the A-Z Databases list. If you are looking for specific journal titles search the A-Z Periodicals list. Please contact one of your librarians for assistance.

Databases A-Z List A list of all our library databases. Click th "All Subjects" menu to browse by subject.
Periodicals A-Z Search Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, or enter a topic term to see periodicals on that subject.

The Luria Library's OneSearch also allows you to search for Open Access sources, including eBooks and e-textbooks. Use the search bar in the box below to search for your topic, then select the appropriate filters from the menu on your left, such as "Open Access" and "Books".

OneSearch

Need help?

For do-it-yourself help, watch the OneSearch introduction video:

Video: Introduction to OneSearch This video from the Santa Barbara City College Luria Library provides an introduction to OneSearch. OneSearch allows you to search many of the library’s resources at once to find print and online books, articles, textbooks on reserve for courses, and other types of sources.

Repositories and Resources for OER

Multi-Subject OER Databases

ASCCC Curated OER Collections
OER Collections for the California Community Colleges, organized by discipline, CSU general education requirements, Transfer Model Curricula, and C-ID
LibreText
Based out of UC Davis, LibreText is an "online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER)."
OER Commons
A searchable database of textbooks created by ISKME (The non-profit Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education).
MERLOT II
Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching is one of the largest online repositories of open materials as well as a forum for collaboration and support of open education communities. It is program of the California State University System.
Open Textbook Library
“A growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks”. This is a project of the Open Textbook Network, a collection of higher education institutions dedicated to promoting OER.
Pressbooks Directory
Pressbooks supports blended and online learning with an intuitive authoring platform for educational material, an extensive directory of public books and open educational resources (OER), and secure methods of delivering content to learning management systems (LMS).
Milne Open Textbooks
Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.
Galileo Open Learning Materials
GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.
Open Oregon Educational Resources
Open Oregon Educational Resources promotes textbook affordability for community college and university students, and facilitates widespread adoption of open, low-cost, high-quality materials.
B.C. Open Textbook Project
Funded by the BC Ministry of Advanced Education, these textbooks are openly licensed using a Creative Commons license, and are offered in various e-book formats free of charge, or print on demand books available at cost.
OpenStax College
A project of Rice University, OpenStax has produced 25 textbooks written by subject experts. They have focused their efforts on producing textbooks for high-enrollment courses in higher education that have most the significant traditional textbook costs. OpenStax offers peer-reviews, supplemental materials, and support for faculty that adopt their open textbooks.

CNX by OpenStax
A collection of OER modules, textbooks, and course notes. The predecessor to the OpenStax Textbook project.
Open Educational Resources/Adoptions (Wikiversity)
List of open educational resources used in community colleges arranged by discipline. Includes the name of the college currently using each title along links to the resources.

Additional Sources of OER Material

CCCOER
Conveniently organized by format/type, CCCOER has listed resources into categories such as books, subject specific resources, open textbooks, open access journals, etc.
Open Course Materials
Curated by Open Washington.org
SkillsCommons
A project of the US Department of Labor’s Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) and managed by CSU, SkillsCommons is a curated library of open materials that support career and technology workforce development.
MyOpenMath
MyOpenMath is designed for mathematics, providing delivery of homework, quizzes, and tests with rich mathematical content. Students can receive immediate feedback on algorithmically generated questions with numerical or algebraic expression answers.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
“DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.”
Unsplash Photo Sharing
Free and completely open high-resolution photos. Licensed with a Creative Commons Zero license.
Wikimedia Commons
A repository of free media files licensed for reuse (often with attribution or other limitations) from the Wikimedia Foundation.
Project Gutenberg
Over 53,000 free ebooks.
The Internet Archive
“Provides free public access to collections of digitized materials, including web sites, software applications/games, music, movies/videos, moving images, and nearly three million public-domain books.”
HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Replit
Coding/Computer Science: Free, collaborative, in-browser IDE to code in 50+ languages — without spending a second on setup.