It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Graphic Design and Photography 116 - History of Graphic Design - Schoenfeld: Books & Articles
This guide provides search strategies and recommended resources for research in Graphic Design and Photography 116 with Ann Schoenfeld.
Covers artistic innovators, breakthrough technologies, and groundbreaking developments that define the graphic design field. Includes topics such as: the invention of writing and alphabets; the origins of printing and typography; the advent of postmodern design; and
the latest key developments in web, multimedia, and interactive design. Includes over 1,400 images, and timelines framed in a broader historical context to help you better understand the evolution of contemporary graphic design.
How to Search for Books and Articles Through OneSearch
Watch the video below for an introduction to searching for books, articles, and more through the Luria Library's OneSearch.
Finding Articles Through Library Databases
Search for articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) in the following databases. From off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.
Academic Search CompleteThis database provides full text for more than 8,500 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles, in all subject areas. The database includes PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
JSTORProvides full text articles from scholarly journals in a range of subject areas in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, dating from the first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. The Luria Library subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences II; Arts & Sciences III; and Life Sciences.
Project MUSEProvides complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals in subject areas such as: ethnic studies; art and architecture; literature; education; film; theatre and performing arts; history; language; medicine and health; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and math; social sciences; and gender and sexuality. Contains over 525 journals, 335 of which are full text. An good source of scholarly articles for advanced literary criticism.