Background Info - Justice Studies 255 - Terrorism and the Criminal Justice System - Altavilla - Research Guides at Santa Barbara City College

Finding Background Information

Library reference sources are a great place to find objective background information on your topic. They can also help you narrow your topic and discover keywords for further searching.

Print Reference Sources

The following reference books are located in the Luria Library reference section. Ask a librarian for help finding the best book for your topic.

The Sage Encyclopedia of Terrorism -- R 363.325 M381s 2011
The Encyclopedia of American Law Enforcement -- R 363.20973 N565e 2007

Online Reference Sources

To access this reference database from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Contains the full text of over 1,000 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books covering all major subject areas. Thousands of Topics Pages provide articles from different reference sources, arranged by subject. Includes “gadgets” for finding images, definitions, people, pronunciations, quotations, and measurement conversations, as well as a concept map feature for help identifying keywords and broadening or narrowing a topic. Additional features include videos, maps, and animations.

This reference book is also available online and will require your pipeline information from off campus:

The 9/11 Encyclopedia

Justice Studies 255 - Terrorism and the Criminal Justice System - Altavilla: Background Info

Finding Background Information

Print Reference Sources

Online Reference Sources