Library Resources - Black Studies 103 - Brown - Research Guides at Santa Barbara City College

Finding Sources Through OneSearch

Use OneSearch to find sources on a topic. Try combining some of the terms below with words that describe your specific topic. For example, if you are doing research on music, you might search for African Americans AND culture AND music.

Suggested Search Terms

African American
African American children
African American men
African American women
African Americans
Afro-Americans
Black Studies
Culture
Popular culture
Social conditions
Social history

Using OneSearch

Watch the video below for an introduction to searching for books, articles, and more through the Luria Library's OneSearch.

Finding Sources Through Library Databases

To find articles from periodicals (newspapers, magazines, and academic journals), search the library databases. To access databases from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline username and password.

Use one of the following general databases, or ask a librarian to suggest the best database for your specific topic:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This database provides full text for more than 8,500 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles, in all subject areas. The database includes PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window The Oxford African American Studies Center provides more than 20,000 articles by top scholars in the field, with over 2,500 images, more than 700 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 200 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Provides full-text coverage of more than 200 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) and nearly 100 books, and selective indexing for 1,700 periodicals from 1955 to the present.
Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window Covers all time periods of U.S. and World History. Provides full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, and cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals). Includes primary source material such as historical documents, photos, and maps. Also includes biographies of historical figures, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides full text articles from scholarly journals in a range of subject areas in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, dating from the first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. The Luria Library subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences II; Arts & Sciences III; and Life Sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Provides complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals in subject areas such as: ethnic studies; art and architecture; literature; education; film; theatre and performing arts; history; language; medicine and health; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and math; social sciences; and gender and sexuality. Contains over 525 journals, 335 of which are full text. An good source of scholarly articles for advanced literary criticism.

Video: Why use library search tools when you have Google?

The following video covers the differences between the surface web and deep web, what you can find through Google, what you can find through SBCC Luria Library databases and OneSearch, and how to get help with your research from a librarian:

Black Studies 103 - Brown: Library Resources

Finding Sources Through OneSearch

Suggested Search Terms

Using OneSearch

Finding Sources Through Library Databases

Video: Why use library search tools when you have Google?