Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 111 - Meisel: Books & Articles

This guide provides search strategies and recommended resources for research in English 111 with Jacqui Meisel.

Finding Books and Articles Through OneSearch

Use OneSearch to find print and online books, articles, and other types of sources. Limit your results to the types of sources you want by choosing the appropriate items from the filtering options.

OneSearch



 

For more search options go to Advanced Search.

Introduction to OneSearch

Watch the video below for an introduction to searching for books, articles, and more through the Luria Library's OneSearch.

Finding Articles Through Library Databases

You can find articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) through OneSearch or by searching library databases directly. Databases will require you to log in with your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus. Ask a librarian for help choosing the best database for your topic, or explore the A-Z Databases list. Start by trying one of the databases below:

Recommended General Databases

The following databases include articles on a wide range of topics. 

Recommended Database for Literary Criticism

The database below includes sources related to authors and works of literature. You may also find literary criticism articles in JSTOR and Project Muse, above.

Finding Statistical Information

For links to sources of statistical information, use this research guide:

Peer Review and Reading Scholarly Materials

To access the tutorials below from off campus, you will need to log in using your Pipeline username and password.

Peer Review

The following video describes how the peer review process works, why it's important, and how to locate peer-reviewed articles.

Reading Scholarly Materials

The following video explores how to identify scholarly sources and how to read them strategically.