Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Scientific Research Articles in Library Databases
Search for articles in the following databases. Most databases include a variety of types of articles; some include popular as well as scholarly articles. Use the advanced search tools to limit your results to research articles from peer-reviewed scientific journals.
From off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.
Academic Search Complete This database provides full text for more than 8,500 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles, in all subject areas. The database includes PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
GreenFILE A collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
JSTOR Provides full text articles from scholarly journals in a range of subject areas in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, dating from the first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. The Luria Library subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences II; Arts & Sciences III; and Life Sciences.
Science Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) Provides full text for more than 400 journals dating as far back as 1994. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.
For topics related to human health and medicine, try the following databases:
Alt HealthWatch Provides articles covering many perspectives on complementary, alternative, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes full text articles for more than 180 journals and reports, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Includes abstracts of articles going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Provides abstracts and full text of journals articles and books covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Searchable cited references for more than 1,350 journals are also included.
Health Resources Searches the following EBSCO health, nursing, and medicine databases at once: Alt HealthWatch; CINAHL Plus with Full Text; Health Source – Consumer Edition; Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition; and MEDLINE.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
MEDLINE Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Some full text articles are available. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
Finding Scientific Research Articles Through Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows you to search for "articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites."
Searching in Google Scholar can help you get a better sense of the scope of the research available on your topic. Sometimes you'll be able to access the full text of articles in your results list, but often links lead to publishers' websites, where you will be charged a fee for full text. In those cases, use the library catalog (books+) search box below to find the article in a library database, or to request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Finding Scientific Research Articles Using OneSearch
Use OneSearch to search for articles in many of the library's databases at once, which may help you get a better sense of the scope of research available through the library on your topic. Limit your search to scholarly sources by selecting "Peer-reviewed Journals" under "Availability" in the filtering options.