Skip to main content

Biology 161 - Belluzzi: Finding Scientific Articles

This guide provides research strategies and recommended resources for research in Biology 161 with Professor L. Belluzzi

Finding Scientific Articles in Library Databases

Search for articles in the following databases. Most databases include a variety of types of articles; some include popular as well as scholarly articles. Use the advanced search tools to limit your results to research articles from peer-reviewed scientific journals.

From off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.

For topics related to human health and medicine, try the following databases:

Finding Scientific Articles Using OneSearch

Use OneSearch to find print and online books, articles, and other types of sources. Limit your results to the types of sources you want by choosing the appropriate items from the filtering options.

OneSearch



 

For more search options go to Advanced Search.

Need help?

For do-it-yourself help, watch the OneSearch introduction video:

Finding Scientific Articles Through Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar to Find Scholarly Sources

Google Scholar allows you to search for a variety of types of scholarly sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts, and court opinions, in all disciplines and fields of study.

Use Google Scholar to get a better sense of the scope of the research available on your topic. 

Finding The Full Text For Free

Links to the full text of scholarly sources are sometimes available through Google scholar, but often links lead to publishers' websites, where you will be charged a fee for full text. 

If you can't find the full text of the source for free through Google Scholar, use OneSearch to find it through the Luria Library.

If the Luria Library doesn't have the full text of the source you need, use Interlibrary Loan to request it from another library, or ask a librarian for help.