MLA Citation & Writing - English 110 - Senn - Research Guides at Santa Barbara City College

MLA Citation Guidelines

Most library databases include a citation tool that allows you to generate a citation for the source in different citation styles. Always check automatically-generated citations against the following guides to make sure they are accurate:

Camosun College MLA Style Guide
8th/9th edition
Columbia College MLA Style Guide
9th edition
Purdue OWL MLA Style Guide
8th/9th edition
Ask the MLA
Explore the MLA's list of frequently asked citation questions.
Noodle Tools Citation Builder
Try using this citation builder for sources that do not come with a pre-made citation. Just fill out the form and Noodle Tools creates the citation in MLA, APA or Chicago style.

Annotated Bibliographies

Explore these links to learn more about creating your annotated bibliography. Remember to follow the examples for the particular citation style you are using:

Annotated Bibliographies
About annotated bibliographies from Purdue OWL.
Annotated Bibliography Example
MLA example from Purdue OWL.
Annotated Bibliography Samples
MLA, APA, and Chicago samples from Purdue OWL.

Writing an Argument Paper

Argument Paper Structure
How to write a thesis, introduction, body paragraphs, and conclusion for argument papers from Purdue OWL.

Personal Interview Resources

MLA Works Cited: Other Common Sources
Includes MLA citation examples for interviews; speeches, lectures, or other oral presentations; published conference proceedings; a painting, sculpture, or photograph; a song or album; films or movies; television shows, podcasts; spoken word albums; and digital files like PDFs, MP3s, and JPEGs. From Purdue OWL.
Interviewing
Information on types of interviews (face to face/phone/ email), setting up interviews, and interview do's and dont's from Purdue OWL.
Conducting an Interview
This presentation is designed to teach students techniques and etiquette for effective interviewing when conducting field research for their classes. From Purdue OWL.

Why We Cite

This brief video explains why citations are so important (there are more reasons than you may know):

MLA Citation Video

The following video covers how to create citations for different types of sources using MLA 8th Edition style (from off campus you will need to log in using your Pipeline username and password):

English 110 - Senn: MLA Citation & Writing