Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Get Help With Your Research
Write a 1500- to 2500- word (6-10-page) essay on a topic of your choice that makes an original argument and that relies on relevant and credible evidence from research to convince an audience that the argument is worth considering. (Important: Not all topics work well for a paper of this type, so please read my comments on your DIYs each week to ensure that you aren't headed in an unproductive direction.) Cite your sources in MLA style both within your essay and in a list of works cited at the end of your essay. A successful research essay presents a well-organized, well-supported response to a focused research question and demonstrates that the writer is participating in a research conversation. Sources are integrated effectively and correctly cited. See the end of chapter 15 in Hello, Writer for a range of possible research essay topics.
Aim to use 8-12 sources, at least one of which must be a scholarly (peer-reviewed) source. Keep in mind that sources can be used for a variety of purposes: to define terms, explain background information, present expert testimony, provide a counterargument, or give statistics or other data.
Gale Literarature This link opens in a new windowProvides access to Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online (which includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism), and Gale Ebooks in a single research environment. Includes primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides full text articles from scholarly journals in a range of subject areas in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, dating from the first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. The Luria Library subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences II; Arts & Sciences III; and Life Sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProvides complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals in subject areas such as: ethnic studies; art and architecture; literature; education; film; theatre and performing arts; history; language; medicine and health; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and math; social sciences; and gender and sexuality. Contains over 525 journals, 335 of which are full text. An good source of scholarly articles for advanced literary criticism.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full text for more than 8,500 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles, in all subject areas. The database includes PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
General Search Using OneSearch
Use OneSearch to find print and online books, articles, and other types of sources. Limit your results to the types of sources you want by choosing the appropriate items from the filtering options.
For more search options go to Advanced Search.
For do-it-yourself help, watch the OneSearch introduction video:
Finding sources using library databases for your assignment
Citation Help - MLA Style
Most library databases include a citation tool that allows you to generate a citation for the source in different citation styles. Always check automatically-generated citations against the following guides to make sure they are accurate: