Research Guides: Undocumented: Library Resources

Finding Books

Reference Databases

Encyclopedias and other reference books are an excellent starting point for your research. They can provide background information and help you identify keywords to use when searching for books and articles.

To access databases from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedias and specialized reference books covering all major subject areas.

Debate (Pro/Con) Databases

To access databases from off campus, log in with your Pipeline username and password:

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Pro/con articles providing opinions and other information on today's hottest social issues.

Periodical Databases

To access databases from off campus, log in with your Pipeline username and password:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles in all subject areas.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text national newspapers including New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, and USA Today. Local and regional newspapers.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text national and international newspapers.

Finding Credible Web Sources

Google Advanced Search
You can use Google Advanced Search to find credible internet sources by limiting search results.
- Choose a domain, like .edu, .gov, or .org, to filter out .com information.
- Explore limiting file type to .pdf to find documents that may have been professionally edited.

SIFT & PICK Fact Checking & Source Evaluation
A printable version of the SIFT & PICK approach to evaluating sources using lateral reading (SIFT) to fact check a source and vertical reading (PICK) to decide whether it is the best source for your needs.

Finding Credible Web Sources
Our Finding Credible Web Sources guide has more tips on searching the Internet.

American Library Association Support Documents

American Libraries Respond: Immigrants, Refugees, and Asylum Seekers
This population constitutes a significant portion of users in many libraries today, giving libraries an important opportunity to change lives. ALA provides resources, toolkits, posters, and more to help libraries serve and advocate for these important patrons.