Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias and other reference books are an excellent starting point for your research. They can provide background information and help you identify keywords to use when searching for books and articles.
To access databases from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.
Contains the full text of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books.
Full-text encyclopedias and specialized reference books covering all major subject areas.
The Grove Encyclopedia of American Art by
Call Number: R 709.73 M377g 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Arranged in alphabetical order, these 5 volumes encompass the history of the cultural development of America with over 2300 entries.
Atlas of World Art by
Call Number: R 709 O58a
Publication Date: 2004
Over 300 maps combining cultural and political phenomena create an exciting new perspective on major art events from 40,000 B.C. to the present. Each pair of pages presents a thesis, showing how geography affected the art of an era.
The Oxford Companion to Western Art by
Call Number: R 703 B856o
Publication Date: 2001
This book has over 2500 entries, alphabetically arranged. Almost half of them cover artists, from classical times to the 20th century. Other entries discuss art styles and movements, art forms (such as battle painting, caricature, or stained glass), specialist terms, and materials and techniques in all media.
The Grove Dictionary of Art by
Call Number: R 703 T948d
Publication Date: 1996
34 volumes. Examines important art forms and key issues of design, taste, function, and patronage, illuminating them in light of the cultural context in which they developed.