Background Info - Biology 112 - Maupin - Research Guides at Santa Barbara City College

Using Reference Sources to Find Background Information

Library reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries are a great place to find background information on your topic, such as scientific terms, definitions, and dates. Reference sources can also help you narrow your topic and discover keywords for further searching.

Online Reference Sources

To access these reference databases from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Contains the full text of over 1,000 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books covering all major subject areas. Thousands of Topics Pages provide articles from different reference sources, arranged by subject. Includes “gadgets” for finding images, definitions, people, pronunciations, quotations, and measurement conversations, as well as a concept map feature for help identifying keywords and broadening or narrowing a topic. Additional features include videos, maps, and animations.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window Contains the full text of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. Subjects covered include arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, government and political science, religion, science, and social sciences.

Print Reference Sources

The following reference books are located in the Luria Library reference section. Ask a librarian for help finding the best book for your topic.

Evolution: The Story of Life by Douglas Palmer; Peter Barrett (Illustrator)
Call Number: R 576.8 P173e 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Recreates the 3.5-billion-year story of life on Earth illustrations and graphics, photographs, and informative text. Includes an index of the hundreds of species shown in the illustrations and introductory articles on evolution.

Background Research Tips

The following tutorial examines how to identify, find, and use background information to help you choose and/or refine your topic (from off campus you will need to log in using your Pipeline username and password):

Biology 112 - Maupin: Background Info

Using Reference Sources to Find Background Information

Online Reference Sources

Print Reference Sources

Background Research Tips