This guide provides students with recommended resources for conducting research on topics related to History. Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of the guide.
Articles from periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers) often provide current information on a topic. To find articles on your topic, search by keyword in these recommended library databases.
This database provides full text for more than 8,500 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles, in all subject areas. The database includes PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Provides full text articles from scholarly journals in a range of subject areas in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, dating from the first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. The Luria Library subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences II; Arts & Sciences III; and Life Sciences.
Provides complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals in subject areas such as: ethnic studies; art and architecture; literature; education; film; theatre and performing arts; history; language; medicine and health; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and math; social sciences; and gender and sexuality. Contains over 525 journals, 335 of which are full text. An good source of scholarly articles for advanced literary criticism.
Covers all time periods of U.S. and World History. Provides full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, and cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals). Includes primary source material such as historical documents, photos, and maps. Also includes biographies of historical figures, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Provides the full text of news, business, and legal sources, including: current and back issues of local, regional, national, and international newspapers; television and radio transcripts; newswires; blogs; information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives; law reviews and journals; and the Shepard's® Citations Service for all federal and state court cases and statutes back to 1789.
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Provides full-text coverage of more than 200 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) and nearly 100 books, and selective indexing for 1,700 periodicals from 1955 to the present.
A digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with a suite of software tools for teaching and research. The collections include contributions from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists.
Covers all time periods of U.S. and World History. Provides full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, and cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals). Includes primary source material such as historical documents, photos, and maps. Also includes biographies of historical figures, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Comprehensive index (no full text) of European works that relate to the Americas. Contains more than 32,000 entries describing printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Created from the bibliography “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750.”
