Books & Articles - English 111 - Walker - Research Guides at Santa Barbara City College

Finding Sources Through OneSearch

Need help?

For do-it-yourself help, watch the OneSearch introduction video:

Video: Introduction to OneSearch This video from the Santa Barbara City College Luria Library provides an introduction to OneSearch. OneSearch allows you to search many of the library’s resources at once to find print and online books, articles, textbooks on reserve for courses, and other types of sources.

Introduction to OneSearch

Watch the video below for an introduction to searching for books, articles, and more through the Luria Library's OneSearch.

Finding Sources Using Library Databases

You can find articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) through OneSearch or by searching library databases directly. Databases will require you to log in with your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus.

Recommended Literature Databases

Gale Literarature This link opens in a new window Provides access to Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online (which includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism), and Gale Ebooks in a single research environment. Includes primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.
MagillOnLiterature Plus This link opens in a new window Contains information about literary works and authors, literary genres and time periods, and national literatures. Includes critical essays, brief plot summaries, character profiles, and detailed setting discussions. Covers work by fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers. Includes biographical essays and lists of authors’ principal works. Also includes a glossary of literary terms.

Other Databases That Include Literature Criticism

Tip: Search using the title of the work of literature and/or the author's name, along with words such as criticism, interpretation, or analysis

JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides full text articles from scholarly journals in a range of subject areas in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, dating from the first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. The Luria Library subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences II; Arts & Sciences III; and Life Sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Provides complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals in subject areas such as: ethnic studies; art and architecture; literature; education; film; theatre and performing arts; history; language; medicine and health; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and math; social sciences; and gender and sexuality. Contains over 525 journals, 335 of which are full text. An good source of scholarly articles for advanced literary criticism.