Finding Sources - English 111 - Walker - Research Guides at Santa Barbara City College

Finding Sources Using OneSearch

Need help?

For do-it-yourself help, watch the OneSearch introduction video:

Video: Introduction to OneSearch

Introduction to OneSearch

Watch the video below for an introduction to searching for books, articles, and more through the Luria Library's OneSearch.

Finding Sources Using Library Databases

You can find articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) through OneSearch or by searching library databases directly. Databases will require you to log in with your Pipeline account information when you access them from off campus. Ask a librarian for help choosing the best database for your topic, or explore the A-Z Databases list. Start by trying one of the databases below:

Recommended General Databases

The following databases include articles on a wide range of topics.

Academic Search Complete

This database provides full text for more than 8,500 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles, in all subject areas. The database includes PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
African American Studies Center

The Oxford African American Studies Center provides more than 20,000 articles by top scholars in the field, with over 2,500 images, more than 700 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 200 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content.
Ethnic News Watch

Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Project MUSE

Provides complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals in subject areas such as: ethnic studies; art and architecture; literature; education; film; theatre and performing arts; history; language; medicine and health; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and math; social sciences; and gender and sexuality. Contains over 525 journals, 335 of which are full text. An good source of scholarly articles for advanced literary criticism.
JSTOR

Provides full text articles from scholarly journals in a range of subject areas in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, dating from the first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. The Luria Library subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences II; Arts & Sciences III; and Life Sciences.

Recommended History Databases

The following databases include sources related to history.

History Reference Center

Covers all time periods of U.S. and World History. Provides full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, and cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals). Includes primary source material such as historical documents, photos, and maps. Also includes biographies of historical figures, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
America: History and Life with Full Text

Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Provides full-text coverage of more than 200 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) and nearly 100 books, and selective indexing for 1,700 periodicals from 1955 to the present.

Recommended Database for Literary Criticism

The database below includes sources related to authors and works of literature. You may also find literary criticism articles in JSTOR and Project Muse, above.

Gale Literarature

Provides access to Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online (which includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism), and Gale Ebooks in a single research environment. Includes primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.
MagillOnLiterature Plus

Contains information about literary works and authors, literary genres and time periods, and national literatures. Includes critical essays, brief plot summaries, character profiles, and detailed setting discussions. Covers work by fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers. Includes biographical essays and lists of authors’ principal works. Also includes a glossary of literary terms.

Recommended Psychology Databases

The following databases includes sources related to psychology, sociology, and other behavioral sciences.

PsycARTICLES

Contains more than 153,000 full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and related organizations. Includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to the first issue.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

Includes nearly 560 full text publications, some dating back as far as 1965, covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.

Finding Statistical Information

For links to sources of statistical information, use this research guide:

Finding Statistical Information

English 111 - Walker: Finding Sources