Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 110 - Meisel - Argument Essay: Books & Articles

This guide provides students with tips and suggested resources for finding sources for their argument essays for English 110 with Professor Meisel.

Finding Books

Use OneSearch to find print and online books, articles, and other types of sources. Limit your results to the types of sources you want by choosing the appropriate items from the filtering options.

OneSearch



 

For more search options go to Advanced Search.

Strategies for Searching for Books

Watch the video below for an introduction to searching for books, articles, and more through the Luria Library's OneSearch.

Finding Articles from Periodicals

Search for articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) in the following databases. These resources will require your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus.

These databases provide pro/con information on current and controversial topics:

These pages provide links to databases in specific subject areas:

Finding Articles Through Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar to Find Scholarly Sources

Google Scholar allows you to search for a variety of types of scholarly sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts, and court opinions, in all disciplines and fields of study.

Use Google Scholar to get a better sense of the scope of the research available on your topic. 

Finding The Full Text For Free

Links to the full text of scholarly sources are sometimes available through Google scholar, but often links lead to publishers' websites, where you will be charged a fee for full text. 

If you can't find the full text of the source for free through Google Scholar, use OneSearch to find it through the Luria Library.

If the Luria Library doesn't have the full text of the source you need, use Interlibrary Loan to request it from another library, or ask a librarian for help.

How to Read Scholarly Materials

The following video explores how to identify scholarly sources and how to read them strategically (from off campus you will need to log in using your Pipeline username and password):