Research Guides: Science vs. Pseudoscience: Debunking Fake Science News and Developing Scientific Literacy: Finding Real Science

Use Library Databases to Find Research Articles

The Luria Library subscribes to several databases that include the full text of scientific research studies. To access these resources from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline username and password:

General Science

Science Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Provides full text for more than 400 journals dating as far back as 1994. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides full text articles from scholarly journals in a range of subject areas in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, dating from the first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. The Luria Library subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences II; Arts & Sciences III; and Life Sciences.

Environmental Science

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Health Science

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides abstracts and full text of journals articles and books covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Searchable cited references for more than 1,350 journals are also included.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Some full text articles are available. Created by the National Library of Medicine.

Use Google Scholar to Find Research Articles

Using Google Scholar to Find Scholarly Sources

Google Scholar allows you to search for a variety of types of scholarly sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts, and court opinions, in all disciplines and fields of study.

Use Google Scholar to get a better sense of the scope of the research available on your topic.

Google Scholar Allows you to search for a variety of types of scholarly sources, including articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions, in all disciplines and fields of study. Links to the full text of scholarly sources are sometimes available. When the full text is not available, ask a librarian for help locating the source through the Luria Library.

Finding The Full Text For Free

Links to the full text of scholarly sources are sometimes available through Google scholar, but often links lead to publishers' websites, where you will be charged a fee for full text.

If you can't find the full text of the source for free through Google Scholar, use OneSearch to find it through the Luria Library.

If the Luria Library doesn't have the full text of the source you need, use Interlibrary Loan to request it from another library, or ask a librarian for help.

Learn to Identify and Read Scholarly Materials

The following tutorial explores how to identify scholarly sources and how to read them strategically (from off campus you will need to log in using your Pipeline username and password):