Topics & Background Info - English 110 - Foege - Research Guides at Santa Barbara City College

Finding Background Information

Library reference sources are a great place to get unbiased background information on controversial topics. They can also help you narrow your topic and discover keywords for further searching.

Online Reference Sources

To access this reference database from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Contains the full text of over 1,000 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books covering all major subject areas. Thousands of Topics Pages provide articles from different reference sources, arranged by subject. Includes “gadgets” for finding images, definitions, people, pronunciations, quotations, and measurement conversations, as well as a concept map feature for help identifying keywords and broadening or narrowing a topic. Additional features include videos, maps, and animations.

Print Reference Sources

These reference books are available in the Luria Library. Stop at the Reference and Information desk for help finding them.

Violence in America: An Encyclopedia -- R 303.6 G685v
Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States -- R 305.800973 M663e
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues -- R306.0973 S528e 2011
American Countercultures: An Encyclopedia of Nonconformists, Alternative Lifestyles, and Radical Ideas in U.S. History -- R 306.1 M678a 2009
Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right -- R 320.03 C283e
Encyclopedia of Social Problems -- R 361.1 P261e
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment -- R 364.03 L665e

Choosing a Controversial Topic

Pro/Con databases and websites are great places to get ideas about current, controversial environmental and social issues.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window A library database providing opinions and other information on current social issues. From off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.

ProCon.org Provides nonpartisan, professionally-researched pro, con, and related information on more than 50 controversial issues from gun control and death penalty to illegal immigration and alternative energy.

Narrowing a Topic

The following video provides strategies for narrowing a topic (from off campus you will need to log in using your Pipeline username and password):

English 110 - Foege: Topics & Background Info

Finding Background Information

Online Reference Sources

Print Reference Sources

Choosing a Controversial Topic

Narrowing a Topic