Research Guides: Early Childhood Education: Reference and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias and eBooks

Early Childhood Education: History, Theory, and Practice. by Harry Morgan
Call Number: ebook

Publication Date: 2010

Harry Morgan lays the foundations of what early childhood education is by integrating the history of the field with the philosophy and theories behind this discipline. A new chapter about critical race theory and its implications has been included.
Early Childhood Care and Education : International perspectives by Melhuish
Call Number: ebook

Publication Date: 2006

This book examines the ways in which different countries across the world are tackling early childhood services and how these services affect young children's experiences and development, for better and worse.
Early Childhood Interventions: Proven results, future promise by Lynn A. Karoly; M. Rebecca Kilburn; Jill S. Cannon
Call Number: 362.70973 K18e and ebook

Publication Date: 2005

The authors consider the potential consequences of not investing additional resources in the lives of children, the range of early intervention programs, the demonstrated benefits of interventions with high-quality evaluations, and the returns to society associated with investing early in the lives of disadvantaged children.

Reference Databases

Encyclopedias and other reference books are an excellent starting point for your research. They can provide background information and help you identify keywords to use when searching for books and articles.

To access databases from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.

Credo Reference
Contains the full text of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books.

Contains the full text of over 1,000 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books covering all major subject areas. Thousands of Topics Pages provide articles from different reference sources, arranged by subject. Includes “gadgets” for finding images, definitions, people, pronunciations, quotations, and measurement conversations, as well as a concept map feature for help identifying keywords and broadening or narrowing a topic. Additional features include videos, maps, and animations.
Gale Ebooks
Full-text encyclopedias and specialized reference books covering all major subject areas.

Contains the full text of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. Subjects covered include arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, government and political science, religion, science, and social sciences.

Early Childhood Education: Reference and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias and eBooks

Reference Databases

Background Research Tips

Background Research Tips