Finding Sources - English 111 - Lukomski - Fences and Lydia - Research Guides at Santa Barbara City College

Finding Sources Through OneSearch

Introduction to OneSearch

Watch the video below for an introduction to searching for books, articles, and more through the Luria Library's OneSearch.

Finding Sources Through Library Databases

Literature Criticism

Try these databases for literary criticism and analysis. You might find some theatrical reviews too.

Gale Literarature Provides access to Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online (which includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism), and Gale Ebooks in a single research environment. Includes primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.
JSTOR Provides full text articles from scholarly journals in a range of subject areas in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, dating from the first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. The Luria Library subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences II; Arts & Sciences III; and Life Sciences.
Project MUSE Provides complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals in subject areas such as: ethnic studies; art and architecture; literature; education; film; theatre and performing arts; history; language; medicine and health; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and math; social sciences; and gender and sexuality. Contains over 525 journals, 335 of which are full text. An good source of scholarly articles for advanced literary criticism.

Theatrical Reviews

Try these databases for theatrical reviews from magazines and newspapers.

Academic Search Complete This database provides full text for more than 8,500 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles, in all subject areas. The database includes PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
US Newsstream Provides full-text access to current U.S. news content from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Archives dating back to the 1980s are also included. Specific titles include: New York Times; Los Angeles Times; Wall Street Journal; Christian Science Monitor; Washington Post; and USA Today, as well as hundreds of local and regional newspapers.
Newspaper Source Plus Provides full text articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines, including Christian Science Monitor, The Times (UK), USA Today, The Washington Post, AP (Associated Press), CNN Wire, PR Wire, UPI (United Press International), and Xinhua (China). Also provides TV and radio news transcripts from sources including ABC News, CBS News, CNBC; CNN, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, and PBS.
Ethnic News Watch Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.

Historical and Social Context

Try these databases to search for information on the historical, social, and psychological aspects of slavery.

History Reference Center Covers all time periods of U.S. and World History. Provides full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, and cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals). Includes primary source material such as historical documents, photos, and maps. Also includes biographies of historical figures, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
PsycARTICLES Contains more than 153,000 full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and related organizations. Includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to the first issue.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection Includes nearly 560 full text publications, some dating back as far as 1965, covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.
Academic Search Complete This database provides full text for more than 8,500 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles, in all subject areas. The database includes PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
JSTOR Provides full text articles from scholarly journals in a range of subject areas in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, dating from the first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. The Luria Library subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences II; Arts & Sciences III; and Life Sciences.

Finding Sources Through Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar to Find Scholarly Sources

Google Scholar allows you to search for a variety of types of scholarly sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts, and court opinions, in all disciplines and fields of study.

Use Google Scholar to get a better sense of the scope of the research available on your topic.

Google Scholar Allows you to search for a variety of types of scholarly sources, including articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions, in all disciplines and fields of study. Links to the full text of scholarly sources are sometimes available. When the full text is not available, ask a librarian for help locating the source through the Luria Library.

Finding The Full Text For Free

Links to the full text of scholarly sources are sometimes available through Google scholar, but often links lead to publishers' websites, where you will be charged a fee for full text.

If you can't find the full text of the source for free through Google Scholar, use OneSearch to find it through the Luria Library.

If the Luria Library doesn't have the full text of the source you need, use Interlibrary Loan to request it from another library, or ask a librarian for help.

English 111 - Lukomski - Fences and Lydia: Finding Sources