Background Info - English C1000 - Davis - Culture and Immigration - Research Guides at Santa Barbara City College

Finding Background Information

Encyclopedias and other reference books are an excellent starting point for your research. They can provide background information and help you identify keywords to use when searching for books and articles.

To access databases from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.

Credo Reference
Contains the full text of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books.

Contains the full text of over 1,000 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books covering all major subject areas. Thousands of Topics Pages provide articles from different reference sources, arranged by subject. Includes “gadgets” for finding images, definitions, people, pronunciations, quotations, and measurement conversations, as well as a concept map feature for help identifying keywords and broadening or narrowing a topic. Additional features include videos, maps, and animations.

Recommended Reference Books on Immigration

The following online encyclopedias, chronologies, and other reference books cover various aspects of immigration and emigration.

Encyclopedia of American Immigration by Keturah C. Nix; Michael Shally-Jensen
Call Number: eBook

Publication Date: 2022

This three-volume encyclopedia covers immigration in the United States from the 17th century to the present. Over 70 articles on specific ethnic and national immigrant groups outline the group's immigration history. Other essays cover broad issues, events, laws, treaties, organizations, institutions, individual states, and Supreme Court rulings on immigration.
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography by Audrey Kobayashi, editor
Call Number: eBook

Publication Date: 2019

Examines the ways in which humans share places and view differences based on gender, race, nationality, location and other factors. Questions of, for example, politics, economics, race relations and migration are introduced and discussed through a geographical lens.
The SAGE Handbook of International Migration by Christine Inglis (Editor); Wei Li (Editor); Binod Khadria (Editor)
Call Number: eBook

Publication Date: 2019

Provides an analysis of key issues in international migration, including its crucial significance far beyond the more traditional questions of immigrant settlement and incorporation in particular countries. It include three parts: Part 1: Disciplinary Perspectives on Migration Part 2: Historical and Contemporary Flows of Migrants Part 3: Theory, Policy and the Factors Affecting Incorporation Part 4: National and Global Policy Challenges in Migration.

English C1000 - Davis - Culture and Immigration: Background Info

Finding Background Information

Recommended Reference Books on Immigration