Research Guides: Finding Government Information: Articles

Periodical Databases

The databases below can limit to Government Documents in the Publication Type menu on the Advanced Search page:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text books, magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals covering all time periods of U.S. and World History.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text national and international newspapers.

More Databases

The following news database can limit to Government Documents on the Advanced Search page under Document Type:

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text national newspapers including New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, and USA Today. Local and regional newspapers.

The following database can limit to Government Publications & Documents under Sources in the Narrow By column to the left of your results list:

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text news, business and legal sources. Legal sources include: law reviews and journals; and the Shepard's® Citations Service for all federal and state court cases and statutes back to 1789, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions back to 1790.

The following databases can limit to Government Reports under Sources Type in the Refine Results column to the left of your results list:

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Provides access to education literature and resources, including governmental reports on education policy and legislation.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.