Maps and Geographic Information Systems (GIS): Websites

Includes a variety of world, regional, country, ocean, and time zone maps, including terrain maps, administrative maps, and transportation maps from around the globe.

A searchable list of over 55,000 maps available online. Also includes overviews of the Library of Congress collections that include maps.

More than 50,000 U.S. and world maps available online, including historical maps and thematic maps on topics such as climate, energy, ethnography, religion, industry, economy, land use, military, and population.

Provides topographic maps from the U.S. Geological Survey for purchase or free download. These are general-use maps at medium scales that present elevation (contour lines), hydrography, geographic place names, and a variety of cultural features. Current-generation topographic maps are created from digital GIS databases, and are branded "US Topo." Historic maps originally published as paper documents in the period 1884-2006 are available as scanned images.

Searchable database of open data shared by cities, government agencies, nonprofits, and organizations.

The home of the U.S. Government’s open data, where you can find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.

From Stanford University, this site provides maps and geospatial data for various locations around the world.

Provides links to data sources for several countries around the world.

Provides open access to data in the following categories: atmosphere; calibrated radiance and solar radiance; cryosphere; human dimensions; land; and ocean.

OpenStreetMap is built by a community of mappers that contribute and maintain data about roads, trails, cafés, railway stations, disaster affected areas, and much more, all over the world. It emphasizes local knowledge and data sharing.

Provides data and tools needed to understand and take action against racism in all of its forms.

Provides free access to geospatial data and interactive maps from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Provides access to publications, reports, and articles written by National Geospatial Program Scientist.

Provides a range of geologic maps, topographic maps, maps of the built environment, geospatial map applications, and more, from the U.S. Geological Survey.

Provides tools from the U.S. Geological Survey suitable for downloading maps, accessing a repository of geographic names data, and 3D modeling for hazard data.

Allows you to create and save simple maps by choosing from a variety of base layers and adding information and/or importing data from CSV, XLSX, KML, or GPX files.

Allows you to create basic maps. Use MapBox Studio to create more complex maps. Free versions with limited access are available. Data from CSV, GeoJSON, GPX, and KML files can be uploaded.

A free platform to publicly share and explore data visualizations, including maps, online.