Start with one of the databases listed for your discipline, or one of the multidisciplinary databases. You can also use OneSearch to search for scholarly articles, by limiting your results to "Peer-reviewed."
Keep in mind that even the discipline-specific databases may include journals from related disciplines. Determine the discipline based on the article itself, not on the database where you found it. To count as an article from your disciplinary lens, the article’s author, the journal, or both must represent that discipline.
The multidisciplinary databases above are likely to be the most useful (start with JSTOR because it allows you to limit your search to anthropology journals). You can also try:
The multidisciplinary databases above are likely to be the most useful (start with JSTOR because it allows you to limit your search to economics journals). You can also try:
The multidisciplinary databases above are likely to be the most useful (start with JSTOR because it allows you to limit your search to political science journals). You can also try:
The multidisciplinary databases above may be useful (start with JSTOR because it allows you to limit your search to sociology journals). You can also try:
Use OneSearch to find print and online books, articles, and other types of sources. After you search, use the filters to limit your results by source type, date, and more.
For more search options go to Advanced Search.
Watch the video below for an introduction to searching for books, articles, and more through the Luria Library's OneSearch.
Google Scholar allows you to search for a variety of types of scholarly sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts, and court opinions, in all disciplines and fields of study.
Use Google Scholar to get a better sense of the scope of the research available on your topic.
Links to the full text of scholarly sources are sometimes available through Google scholar, but often links lead to publishers' websites, where you will be charged a fee for full text.
If you can't find the full text of the source for free through Google Scholar, use OneSearch to find it through the Luria Library.
If the Luria Library doesn't have the full text of the source you need, use Interlibrary Loan to request it from another library, or ask a librarian for help.