Research Guides: Library Services for Online Students: Books

Finding Books

Online Books

To access databases from off campus, log in with your Pipeline username and password:

Reference Books: Background Information

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of nearly 800 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books covering all major subject areas. Thousands of Topics Pages provide articles from different reference sources, arranged by subject.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. Subjects covered include arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, government and political science, religion, science, and social sciences.

Fiction and Nonfiction eBooks

eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 22,000 electronic books, in all subject areas, selected for the Luria Library collection. Books can be searched either through this database, or through the library catalog (the “books” tab on the homepage).
Ebook Central College Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides unlimited access to more than 40,000 ebooks in a range of subject areas, including: business; computer science; career guidance; vocational education; liberal arts; and health.

How to Search for Books

Watch the video below for an introduction to searching for books, articles, and more through the Luria Library's OneSearch.

How to Request Print Books from the SBCC Library

Books for Pickup at the Library

The links below provide instructions and more information about requesting and picking up print books from the library's regular collection. For more information about accessing textbooks, please see our Textbooks and Course Reserves page.

Requesting a Book in OneSearch
This PDF provides instructions for requesting a print book to pick up at the library. Please note that print textbooks cannot be requested for pickup.

How do I pick up or return SBCC Library materials?
See this FAQ for when, where, and how you can pick up or return library materials, including current library hours and current availability of Chromebooks.

Books by Mail for Out-of-Area Students

We are happy to mail books other than textbooks to SBCC online students who do not live in the immediate Santa Barbara area. Please email circulation@sbcc.edu to make your request. Be sure to include your SBCC student ID number and your mailing address. Textbooks and other course reserve materials are available for limited loan periods and cannot be shipped.

How to Renew Library Materials Online

Library Account
Log in with your Pipeline username and password.

your name

Library Accoun

"Renew"

"Loans"