Books & Articles - Anthropology 104 - Jaqua - Research Guides at Santa Barbara City College

Finding Books and Articles Through OneSearch

Using OneSearch

Watch the video below for an introduction to searching for books, articles, and more through the Luria Library's OneSearch.

Peer Review

The following video describes how the peer review process works, why it's important, and how to locate peer-reviewed articles (from off campus you will need to log in using your Pipeline username and password):

Finding Articles Through Library Databases

Use library databases to find articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), as well as other types of sources. From off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for thousands of periodicals, including peer-reviewed journals in all subject areas.
African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 20,000 articles by top scholars in the field, with over 2,500 images, more than 700 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 200 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and full text articles from scholarly journals in communication, mass media, and other related disciplines.
Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window
Includes journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full text articles from scholarly journals in a range of subject areas. Use Advanced Search and the Journal Filter to limit your results to specific disciplines, such as Anthropology or Linguistics.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text versions of scholarly journals in a wide range of subject areas.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes full text publications, including scholarly articles, covering topics related to social and behavioral sciences.

Finding Articles in Specific Periodicals

Use the A-Z Periodicals search below to determine whether the library provides the full text of a specific periodical, such as a scholarly journal.

Periodicals A-Z Search Search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, or enter a topic term to see periodicals on that subject.

Scholarly Journals for Anthropology

American Anthropology
Annals of Anthropological Practice
Annual Review of Anthropology
Anthropological Linguistics
Anthropology Today
Current Anthropology
Ethos
Journal of Anthropological Research
Journal of Anthropological Sciences
Journal of Linguistic Anthropology
Language in Society
Pragmatics
Social Anthropology

Regional Journals

Anthropological Journal of European Cultures
Asian and Caribbean Studies
Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology
Latin American Perspectives
Oceania
Sites: A Journal of Social Anthropology and Cultural Studies
The Australian Journal of Anthropology

Anthropology 104 - Jaqua: Books & Articles