Books and Articles - English 110 - Peters - Culture and Immigration - Research Guides at Santa Barbara City College

Finding Sources Through OneSearch

Introduction to OneSearch

Watch the video below for an introduction to searching for books, articles, and more through the Luria Library's OneSearch.

Finding Sources Through Library Databases

Search for articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) in the following databases. From off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This database provides full text for more than 8,500 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles, in all subject areas. The database includes PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window Covers all time periods of U.S. and World History. Provides full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, and cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals). Includes primary source material such as historical documents, photos, and maps. Also includes biographies of historical figures, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides full text articles from scholarly journals in a range of subject areas in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, dating from the first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. The Luria Library subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences II; Arts & Sciences III; and Life Sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Provides complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals in subject areas such as: ethnic studies; art and architecture; literature; education; film; theatre and performing arts; history; language; medicine and health; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and math; social sciences; and gender and sexuality. Contains over 525 journals, 335 of which are full text. An good source of scholarly articles for advanced literary criticism.

For more databases from specific disciplines or subject areas (such as history or psychology), see the A-Z Databases list and select the subject area you want.

Basic Searching Using EBSCOhost Databases

The following video demonstrates a basic search on EBSCOhost, the platform shared by many Luria Library databases.

English 110 - Peters - Culture and Immigration: Books and Articles

Finding Sources Through OneSearch

Introduction to OneSearch

Finding Sources Through Library Databases

Basic Searching Using EBSCOhost Databases