Finding Sources - English 110 - Trujillo - Research Guides at Santa Barbara City College

Finding Sources Through OneSearch

Introduction to OneSearch

Watch the video below for an introduction to searching for books, articles, and more through the Luria Library's OneSearch.

Finding Sources Through Library Databases

For a more focused search, use a specific library database to find specific types of sources (such as scholarly articles) or sources in a particular subject area (such as psychology). From off campus you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline information.

General

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This database provides full text for more than 8,500 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles, in all subject areas. The database includes PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides full text articles from scholarly journals in a range of subject areas in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, dating from the first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. The Luria Library subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences II; Arts & Sciences III; and Life Sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Provides complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals in subject areas such as: ethnic studies; art and architecture; literature; education; film; theatre and performing arts; history; language; medicine and health; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and math; social sciences; and gender and sexuality. Contains over 525 journals, 335 of which are full text. An good source of scholarly articles for advanced literary criticism.

Literature

Gale Literarature This link opens in a new window Provides access to Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online (which includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism), and Gale Ebooks in a single research environment. Includes primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.

News

Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to current U.S. news content from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Archives dating back to the 1980s are also included. Specific titles include: New York Times; Los Angeles Times; Wall Street Journal; Christian Science Monitor; Washington Post; and USA Today, as well as hundreds of local and regional newspapers.

Psychology

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Includes nearly 560 full text publications, some dating back as far as 1965, covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.

More Options

See the A-Z Databases list for a complete list of Luria Library databases. Use the drop-down menu to find databases by the subject area they focus on (such as psychology, history, or bio-medical sciences), or ask a librarian to recommend the best databases for your specific information need.

English 110 - Trujillo: Finding Sources