Books & Articles - English 110 - Monda - Research Guides at Santa Barbara City College

Finding Books and Articles Through OneSearch

Search Tip:

Try adding "social conditions" to your search, to find sources address your topic as a social problem.

For example: climate change social conditions

Using OneSearch

Watch the video below for an introduction to searching for books, articles, and more through the Luria Library's OneSearch.

Finding Articles Through Library Databases

Search for articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) in the following databases. From off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.

General Database for All Topics

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This database provides full text for more than 8,500 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles, in all subject areas. The database includes PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

EBSCOhost Tutorials

For help using Academic Search Complete and other databases from EBSCO, watch the following videos, or ask a librarian for help.

Video: Introduction to EBSCOhost This video from EBSCO provides an overview of the EBSCOhost interface. A PowerPoint version is also available.
Video: Basic Searching on EBSCOhost This video from EBSCO demonstrates a basic search on EBSCOhost. A PowerPoint version is also available.
Video: Using the EBSCOhost Result List This video from EBSCO demonstrates the features available on the EBSCOhost Result List, including: limiting results; saving articles to the folder; and reviewing images. A PowerPoint version is also available.

Pro/Con Database

News Databases

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to current U.S. news content from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Archives dating back to the 1980s are also included. Specific titles include: New York Times; Los Angeles Times; Wall Street Journal; Christian Science Monitor; Washington Post; and USA Today, as well as hundreds of local and regional newspapers.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Provides full text articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines, including Christian Science Monitor, The Times (UK), USA Today, The Washington Post, AP (Associated Press), CNN Wire, PR Wire, UPI (United Press International), and Xinhua (China). Also provides TV and radio news transcripts from sources including ABC News, CBS News, CNBC; CNN, FOX News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, and PBS.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Provides the full text of news, business, and legal sources, including: current and back issues of local, regional, national, and international newspapers; television and radio transcripts; newswires; blogs; information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives; law reviews and journals; and the Shepard's® Citations Service for all federal and state court cases and statutes back to 1789.

Other Databases

See the A-Z Databases List for descriptions of all of the library's databases.

How to Request Books or Articles from Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan is a free service for students. Students can request copies of articles or borrow books from another library. Students are advised to request loans early in the research process as loans can take three to ten days.

English 110 - Monda: Books & Articles