Research Guides: English as a Second Language (ESL): Home

Research Help

More Research and Writing Help

About This Guide

This guide provides students with recommended resources for students studying English as a Second Language. Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of the guide.

ESL grammar books:

The ESL Writer's Handbook by Janine Carlock; et al.
Call Number: ABE 428.2 C284e 2025
Publication Date: 2025
The ESL Writer's Handbook continues to be a valuable resource that offers non-native English speakers, particularly international students, a foundation in the basics of the academic writing genre they need to succeed in high school- or college-level writing.
English Grammar for ESL Learners by Ed Swick
Call Number: ABE 428.24 S976e 2022
Publication Date: 2022
From present tense regular verbs to double object pronouns, this comprehensive guide covers all aspects of English grammar, focusing on the practical aspects of English as it is really spoken.
English for Everyone: English Idioms by DK
Call Number: ABE 428.24 B725e 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Ideal for anyone who wants to learn English to native-speaker standard and prepare for major English exams including IELTS, TOEIC, and TOEFL, this fun and engaging visual guide to the most common and useful English idioms and phrases.
English Made Easy: Volume 1 by Jonathan Crichton and Pieter Koster
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015
This book gives beginner English learners easy access to the vocabulary, grammar and functions of English as it is actually used in social situations.
English Made Easy: Volume 2 by Jonathan Crichton and Pieter Koster
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
This book gives beginner English learners easy vocabulary, grammar and functions of English as it is commonly used in social situations.
Oxford Picture Dictionary by Jayme Adelson-Goldstein and Norma Shapiro
Call Number: ABE 423.17 A231o 2016
Publication Date: 2016
The Oxford Picture Dictionary provides unparalleled support for vocabulary teaching to meet the needs of today's English language learners.
McGraw-Hill Education Essential ESL Dictionary by McGraw Hill
Call Number: ABE 423.1 M148 2015
Publication Date: 2014
Inside you will find more than 9,000 English terms, each with a simple definition so you will understand its meaning and usage. Every entry is accompanied by its phonetic translation, definition, and explanation.
Writing Better English for ESL Learners by Edward Swick
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Writing Better English helps you increase your levels of proficiency in both grammar and vocabulary.