Research Guides: English as a Second Language (ESL): Articles

ESL Databases

To access databases from off campus, log in with your Pipeline username and password:

Primary Search This link opens in a new window
A good source for ESL (English as a Second Language) students. Provides full text for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research, as well as a collection of photos, maps, and flags. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window
A good database for advanced ESL (English as a Second Language) students. Contains the full text of high school magazines in a wide range of subject areas. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexile).

To access databases from off campus, log in with your Pipeline username and password:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles in all subject areas.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text national newspapers including New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, and USA Today. Local and regional newspapers.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text national and international newspapers.

To access databases from off campus, log in with your Pipeline username and password:

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Pro/con articles providing opinions and other information on today's hottest social issues.