Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reserves Request Form
While the library cannot check out the print textbooks this semester, we are in the process of scanning our course textbook collection in order to provide students with an e-reserve option. Please fill out the form to request an e-reserve from the library (you must be signed into your student pipeline email account to access the form)
Please note: The title you requested may not be available in the library, may not yet be available electronically, or may be currently checked out. Library staff will email you to let you know if the book is available and how long it is likely to take us to scan it. Once an electronic copy of the title is made available and shared with you, your access to the item WILL EXPIRE AFTER 1-DAY.
How to Find Your Textbook
During the beginning of the COVID19 pandemic, several publishers were making their textbooks available for free online.
Unfortunately, this is no longer the case.
Contact the Campus Store at SBCC to locate and purchase or rent your textbook.
The information below offers links to sources of digitized books--some of them may offer required readings.
Online Books from Luria Library
To access databases from off campus, log in with your Pipeline username and password:
Reference Books: Background Information
Contains the full text of nearly 800 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books covering all major subject areas. Thousands of Topics Pages provide articles from different reference sources, arranged by subject.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Contains the full text of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. Subjects covered include arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, government and political science, religion, science, and social sciences.
Fiction and Nonfiction eBooks
A collection of over 22,000 electronic books, in all subject areas, selected for the Luria Library collection. Books can be searched either through this database, or through the library catalog (the “books” tab on the homepage).
Ebook Central College Complete
Provides unlimited access to more than 40,000 ebooks in a range of subject areas, including: business; computer science; career guidance; vocational education; liberal arts; and health.
Sources of Free Books Online
The Internet Archive
“Provides free public access to collections of digitized materials, including web sites, software applications/games, music, movies/videos, moving images, and nearly three million public-domain books.”
From the Internet Archive.
A project of Rice University, OpenStax has produced 25 textbooks written by subject experts. They have focused their efforts on producing textbooks for high-enrollment courses in higher education that have most the significant traditional textbook costs. OpenStax offers peer-reviews, supplemental materials, and support for faculty that adopt their open textbooks.
Open Textbook Library
“A growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks”. This is a project of the Open Textbook Network, a collection of higher education institutions dedicated to promoting OER.
Open Educational Resources by Subject
About Open Educational Resources (OER)