Finding Sources - Justice Studies 245 - Sack - Research Guides at Santa Barbara City College

Finding Sources Through OneSearch

Introduction to OneSearch

Watch the video below for an introduction to searching for books, articles, and more through the Luria Library's OneSearch.

Finding Sources Through Library Databases

You can find articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) through OneSearch or by searching library databases directly. Databases will require you to log in with your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete

This database provides full text for more than 8,500 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles, in all subject areas. The database includes PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
JSTOR

Provides full text articles from scholarly journals in a range of subject areas in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, dating from the first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. The Luria Library subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences II; Arts & Sciences III; and Life Sciences.
Military & Government Collection

Provides news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Includes periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), and other content, including cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 periodicals, and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.

Criminal Justice Database

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text

Includes full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice and criminology field, with more than 320 full-text magazines and journals. Covering a wide range of topics, it is an essential collection for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology. Subjects include corrections and prisons, criminal investigations, forensic sciences and investigation, substance abuse and addiction, probation and parole.

Law (& News) Database

Nexis Uni

Provides the full text of news, business, and legal sources, including: current and back issues of local, regional, national, and international newspapers; television and radio transcripts; newswires; blogs; information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives; law reviews and journals; and the Shepard's® Citations Service for all federal and state court cases and statutes back to 1789.

Additional Options

See the A-Z Databases list for a complete list of Luria Library databases. Use the drop-down menu to find databases by the subject area they focus on, or ask a librarian to recommend the best databases for your specific information need.

Justice Studies 245 - Sack: Finding Sources