Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Parents and Families: Library Resources

This guide provides recommended resources for and about student parents and their families.

Finding Books

Use OneSearch to find print and online books, articles, and other types of sources. Limit your results to the types of sources you want by choosing the appropriate items from the filtering options.

OneSearch



 

For more search options go to Advanced Search.

Reference Databases

Encyclopedias and other reference books are an excellent starting point for your research. They can provide background information and help you identify keywords to use when searching for books and articles.

To access databases from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.

Periodical Databases

To access databases from off campus, log in with your Pipeline username and password:

Debate (Pro/Con) Databases

To access databases from off campus, log in with your Pipeline username and password:

More Library Resources

Library Resources for Parents: We have books on...
Parenting
Family Health
Child Development
Relationships
Communication
Social & Emotional Issues
Career Development
Family Finances
Cooking
Activities for Kids
...and more.
[Image of children drawing and making crafts] Be an author! Write or draw your story.
[Image of child reading] Boost Language Skills at Home: 
Read Together
Tell Stories
Explore New Words
Sound it Out
Ask Questions
Discuss Themes
Find Examples
Do a Craft
Sing, Dance, Move
Rhyme
Repeat Favorites
Visit Libraries
Make Reading Fun!
Websites for Family Literacy:
American Library Association
Notable Children’s Digital Media
http://bit.ly/2GQTvMy
¡Colorin Colorado! (bilingual)
http://www.colorincolorado.org/
Reading Rockets
http://www.readingrockets.org/
SB Public Library: Kids
http://bit.ly/UkA6Z5
[Quote] 
The more you read,
The more you know.
The more you know,
The smarter you grow.
The smarter you grow,
The stronger your voice.
When speaking your mind,
Or making your choice.
-National Library Week

Click on the image above to see the complete document.

Finding Credible Web Sources