Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Welcome to the SBCC Luria Library!: Home

This guide provides links to library resources, tutorials for using the library, and information about how to get help.

Research Help

Live Chat (available during Luria Library open hours):

Email: library@sbcc.edu and a librarian will respond by email.

Book An Appointment With A Librarian

Schedule an appointment to meet with a librarian on Zoom for research help. We're happy to meet with you!

Your Librarians Are Here For You!

A Brief Tour of the Luria Library Website

The following video demonstrates where to find library search tools, help from librarians, do-it-yourself help like research guides and tutorials, and more on the Luria Library website. Get to the website homepage by selecting the Luria Library logo at the top of this page.

To save or print the information in the video, download the following document:

Why Use Library Search Tools When You Have Google?

The following video covers the differences between the surface web and deep web, what you can find through Google, what you can find through SBCC Luria Library databases and OneSearch, and how to get help with your research from a librarian:

Finding Books and Articles With OneSearch

Use OneSearch to find print and online books, articles, and other types of sources. Limit your results to the types of sources you want by choosing the appropriate items from the filtering options.

OneSearch



 

For more search options go to Advanced Search.

Need help?

For do-it-yourself help, watch the OneSearch introduction video:

Finding Articles Through Library Databases

Use library databases to find articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), as well as other types of sources. From off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.

General Databases

These databases include different types of sources -- including scholarly, peer-reviewed articles -- on a wide range of topics. Academic Search Complete is a great place to start for most topics. JSTOR includes mostly scholarly sources but often does not include the most recent issues of scholarly journals.

Pro/Con Databases

These databases include information and arguments on multiple sides of current issues.

News Databases

These databases include current news sources such as newspaper and news magazine articles and broadcast news transcripts.

Additional Options

See the A-Z Databases list for a complete list of Luria Library databases. Use the drop-down menu to find databases by the subject area they focus on (such as psychology, history, or bio-medical sciences), or ask a librarian to recommend the best databases for your specific information need.