Books and Articles - English 110 - D. Starkey - Research Guides at Santa Barbara City College

Finding Books (OneSearch Search Box)

How to Search for Books

Watch the video below for an introduction to searching for books, articles, and more through the Luria Library's OneSearch.

Finding Articles

Search for periodical articles (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) in the following databases. To access databases from off campus, log in with your Pipeline username and password.

The following databases include scholarly sources as well as other types of sources:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This database provides full text for more than 8,500 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles, in all subject areas. The database includes PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides full text articles from scholarly journals in a range of subject areas in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, dating from the first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. The Luria Library subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences II; Arts & Sciences III; and Life Sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Provides complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals in subject areas such as: ethnic studies; art and architecture; literature; education; film; theatre and performing arts; history; language; medicine and health; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and math; social sciences; and gender and sexuality. Contains over 525 journals, 335 of which are full text. An good source of scholarly articles for advanced literary criticism.
Science Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Provides full text for more than 400 journals dating as far back as 1994. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.

The following databases include information and arguments on different sides of controversial topics:

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window An excellent source of pro/con information, providing opinions and other information on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Includes continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

The following databases are good sources of recent news:

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to current U.S. news content from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Archives dating back to the 1980s are also included. Specific titles include: New York Times; Los Angeles Times; Wall Street Journal; Christian Science Monitor; Washington Post; and USA Today, as well as hundreds of local and regional newspapers.

News Databases Provides regional, national, and international news sources, including full text access to top newspapers like The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, and Wall Street Journal.

To view a complete list of the library databases, click the link below:

Databases A-Z List A list of all our library databases. Click th "All Subjects" menu to browse by subject.

English 110 - D. Starkey: Books and Articles

Finding Books (OneSearch Search Box)

How to Search for Books

Finding Articles