Finding Sources - Communication 171 - Principe - Research Guides at Santa Barbara City College

Finding Books, Articles, and More Through OneSearch

Introduction to OneSearch

Watch the video below for an introduction to searching for books, articles, and more through the Luria Library's OneSearch.

Finding Articles Through Library Databases

Try using the following databases to find scholarly research articles on your topic. See the A-Z Databases page for a full list of library databases.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This database provides full text for more than 8,500 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles, in all subject areas. The database includes PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Provides abstracts and full text articles from journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study, some dating as far back as 1915. Also includes over 5,400 Author Profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information for the most frequently searched for authors in the database.
Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides full text articles from scholarly journals in a range of subject areas in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, dating from the first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. The Luria Library subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences II; Arts & Sciences III; and Life Sciences.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Includes nearly 560 full text publications, some dating back as far as 1965, covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to current U.S. news content from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Archives dating back to the 1980s are also included. Specific titles include: New York Times; Los Angeles Times; Wall Street Journal; Christian Science Monitor; Washington Post; and USA Today, as well as hundreds of local and regional newspapers.

See the Newspapers @ Luria Library guide for help access the New York Times and other specific newspapers.

Find Articles Through Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar to Find Scholarly Sources

Google Scholar allows you to search for a variety of types of scholarly sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts, and court opinions, in all disciplines and fields of study.

Use Google Scholar to get a better sense of the scope of the research available on your topic.

Google Scholar Allows you to search for a variety of types of scholarly sources, including articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions, in all disciplines and fields of study. Links to the full text of scholarly sources are sometimes available. When the full text is not available, ask a librarian for help locating the source through the Luria Library.

Finding The Full Text For Free

Links to the full text of scholarly sources are sometimes available through Google scholar, but often links lead to publishers' websites, where you will be charged a fee for full text.

If you can't find the full text of the source for free through Google Scholar, use OneSearch to find it through the Luria Library.

If the Luria Library doesn't have the full text of the source you need, use Interlibrary Loan to request it from another library, or ask a librarian for help.