Books & Articles - English 110 - Lukomski - Research Guides at Santa Barbara City College

Finding Sources Through OneSearch

Introduction to OneSearch

Watch the video below for an introduction to searching for books, articles, and more through the Luria Library's OneSearch.

Recommended Books On Social Media

The Propagation of Misinformation in Social Media: A Cross-platform Analysis by Richard Rogers
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9789463720762
Publication Date: 2023
Examines how social media circulate extreme viewpoints and turn up the temperature of public debate.
Identities and Intimacies on Social Media: Transnational Perspectives by Tonny Krijnen, Paul G. Nixon, Michelle D. Ravenscroft, and Cosimo Marco Scarcelli.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781003250982
Publication Date: 2022
This edited collection illuminates the scope with which identities and intimacies interact on a wide range of social media platforms.
The Society of the Selfie: Social Media and the Crisis of Liberal Democracy by Jeremiah Morelock and Felipe Ziotti Narita
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781914386251
Publication Date: 2021
This book explores how the Internet is connected to the global crisis of liberal democracy.
#HashtagActivism: Networks of Race and Gender Justice by Sarah J. Jackson, Moya Bailey, Brooke Foucault Welles, and Genie Lauren
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780262356503
Publication Date: 2020
This "well-researched, nuanced" study of the rise of social media activism explores how marginalized groups use Twitter to advance counter-narratives, preempt political spin, and build diverse networks of dissent.
Friendship and Social Media: A Philosophical Exploration by Diane Jeske
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781315210452
Publication Date: 2019
The author uses the philosophical analysis of friendship to assess the impact of our ever-growing use of social media.
Weaponized Social Media by Sherri M. Gordon
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781978504622
Publication Date: 2019
Readers will discover how social media is used as a weapon and what they can do to protect themselves. They also will uncover useful information about the benefits of social media and how they can use it in beneficial ways.
Young People, Social Media and Health by Victoria Goodyear and Kathleen Armour
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781351026987
Publication Date: 2018
It draws on novel research to understand, explain, and illustrate young people’s experiences of engagement with health-related social media; as well as the impacts they report on their health, wellbeing, and physical activity.

Finding Sources Through Library Databases

Use library databases to find articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), as well as other types of sources. From off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.

General Databases

These databases include different types of sources -- including scholarly, peer-reviewed articles -- on a wide range of topics. Academic Search Complete is a great place to start for most topics. JSTOR includes mostly scholarly sources but often does not include the most recent issues of scholarly journals.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This database provides full text for more than 8,500 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles, in all subject areas. The database includes PDF content going back as far as 1887. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides full text articles from scholarly journals in a range of subject areas in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, dating from the first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. The Luria Library subscription includes the following collections: Arts & Sciences II; Arts & Sciences III; and Life Sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Provides complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals in subject areas such as: ethnic studies; art and architecture; literature; education; film; theatre and performing arts; history; language; medicine and health; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and math; social sciences; and gender and sexuality. Contains over 525 journals, 335 of which are full text. An good source of scholarly articles for advanced literary criticism.

Pro/Con Database

Opposing Viewpoints includes information and arguments on multiple sides of current issues.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window An excellent source of pro/con information, providing opinions and other information on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Includes continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

Environmental Studies Databases

These databases include sources on topics related to the environment and sustainability.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Science Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Provides full text for more than 400 journals dating as far back as 1994. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.

News Databases

These databases include current news sources such as newspaper and news magazine articles and broadcast news transcripts.

Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to current U.S. news content from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Archives dating back to the 1980s are also included. Specific titles include: New York Times; Los Angeles Times; Wall Street Journal; Christian Science Monitor; Washington Post; and USA Today, as well as hundreds of local and regional newspapers.

Additional Options

See the A-Z Databases list for a complete list of Luria Library databases. Use the drop-down menu to find databases by the subject area they focus on (such as psychology, history, or bio-medical sciences), or ask a librarian to recommend the best databases for your specific information need.

New York Times Website Full Access

The Luria Library subscription allows all students, staff, and faculty full access to the New York Times website, where you can find breaking news, past features, and more.

You are required to register and set up a free account through the library subscription in order to access the website.

Here are the steps for registering and setting up an account:

If you are registering while you are on campus:

Go to accessnyt.com
Find and select "Santa Barbara City College" in the "Find School" drop down menu
Find the "On Campus click here", and click "here"
Follow the instructions:
1. You will be required to indicate whether you are a student or a faculty/staff member. For students, you will be required to enter your expected graduation/transfer date, and an alternate email address.
2. Select "Get Started"
  - Note: If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button). Existing paid New York Times subscribers must cancel their paid subscription before authenticating via the school funded program.

If you are registering from off campus:

Make sure you are signed in to Pipeline in your browser
Go to accessnyt.com
Find and select "Santa Barbara City College" in the "Find School" drop down menu
Select the blue "Go" button
Create an NYT account
You will be required to indicate whether you are a student or a faculty/staff member. For students, you will be required to enter your expected graduation/transfer date, and an alternate email address.
- Note: If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button). Existing paid New York Times subscribers must cancel their paid subscription before authenticating via the school funded program.

Need help? Watch this video for a demonstration.

For ongoing access, once you have activated your account:

Simply go to nytimes.com and log in via the "Log In" button, using your SBCC Pipeline email address and your chosen password. You may wish to bookmark the link for future use.

English 110 - Lukomski: Books & Articles