About this Guide
This guide provides students with recommended resources for conducting research on topics related to Nursing. Use the tabs to navigate through the pages of the guide.
Provides abstracts and full text of journals articles and books covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Searchable cited references for more than 1,350 journals are also included.
Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Some full text articles are available. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Provides articles covering many perspectives on complementary, alternative, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes full text articles for more than 180 journals and reports, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Includes abstracts of articles going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.
Contains nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Magazines
To access databases from off campus, log in with your Pipeline username and password:
Articles, special reports, profiles, and news of note published for professional nurses and administrators in hospitals, managed health care, doctor's offices and schools.
Perspectives in Biology and Medicine, an interdisciplinary scholarly journal whose readers include biologists, physicians, students, and scholars, publishes essays that place important biological or medical subjects in broader scientific, social, or humanistic contexts.
This tutorial describes how the peer review process works, why it's important, and how to locate peer-reviewed articles.
If you have trouble accessing this tutorial from off campus, try logging into My.SBCC.edu in a different browser tab, then reloading this page. If that doesn't work, follow the direct link above to open the tutorial outside of this guide.
