Research Guides: Nursing: Reference Sources

Reference Databases

Encyclopedias and other reference books are an excellent starting point for your research. They can provide background information and help you identify keywords to use when searching for books and articles.

To access databases from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.

Credo Reference
Contains the full text of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books.

Contains the full text of over 1,000 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books covering all major subject areas. Thousands of Topics Pages provide articles from different reference sources, arranged by subject. Includes “gadgets” for finding images, definitions, people, pronunciations, quotations, and measurement conversations, as well as a concept map feature for help identifying keywords and broadening or narrowing a topic. Additional features include videos, maps, and animations.
Gale Ebooks
Full-text encyclopedias and specialized reference books covering all major subject areas.

Contains the full text of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. Subjects covered include arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, government and political science, religion, science, and social sciences.

Reference Books on Nursing

Nursing School Entrance Exams by Sandra S. Swick and Rita R. Callahan
Call Number: 610.73076 B277n 2020

Publication Date: 2020

Provides detailed review and practice materials that you need to achieve success on the various Nursing School Entrance Exams (including the HESI A2, NLN PAX-RN, PSB-RN, RNEE, and the TEAS).
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice by Sandra M. Nettina
Call Number: eBook

Publication Date: 2018-11-02

A classic text since it was first published in 1974, the Lippincott Manual for Nursing Practice has provided essential nursing knowledge and up-to-date information on patient care for nearly 40 years. Organized into five major parts, covering the Nursing Process and Practice; Medical-Surgical Nursing; Maternity & Neonatal Nursing; Pediatric Nursing; and Psychiatric Nursing. Written in an easy-to-read outline format, content is evidence-based and filled with procedure guidelines.
Nursing Diagnosis Manual by Marilynn E. Doenges; Mary Frances Moorhouse; Alice C. Murr; F.A. Davis Company
Call Number: eBook

Publication Date: 2022

The Nursing Diagnosis Manual will find for each diagnosis: defining characteristics presented subjectively and objectively, sample clinical applications to ensure you have selected the appropriate diagnoses, prioritized action/interventions with rationales, a documentation section, and much more!
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by Vallerand
Call Number: 615.1 V184d and Front Desk 3-Hour Reserves and eBook

Publication Date: 2014

Delivers all of the information you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan -- well-organized monographs for hundreds of generic and thousands of trade-name drugs.
Mastering Simulation: a Handbook for Success by Ulrich
Call Number: eBook

Publication Date: 2014

This book is a handbook for individuals working in or preparing to work in simulation and for academic and service organizations that are using simulation or are planning to use simulation. It provides the knowledge needed to become a simulation professional and information on how to best use that knowledge to effectively use simulation in their organizations.
Occupational Outlook Handbook by Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor
Call Number: eBook

Publication Date: 2018

The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a publication of the United States Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics that includes information about the nature of work, working conditions, training and education, earnings and job outlook for hundreds of different occupations in the United States.