The following tutorial covers cultivating a search mindset by approaching searching as a process of discovery, and examines specific strategies for strategic exploration (from off campus you will need to log in using your Pipeline username and password):
The following tutorial why identifying keywords is important, how to use key concepts from a research question to select initial keywords, and how to identify additional keywords as you search for information. (from off campus you will need to log in using your Pipeline username and password):
The following video covers how to determine your assignment’s information need, how to locate the different types of library databases, and how to determine if a specific database meets your needs (from off campus you will need to log in using your Pipeline username and password):
Use OneSearch to find print and online books, articles, and other types of sources. After you search, use the filters to limit your results by source type, date, and more.
For more search options go to Advanced Search.
Watch the video below for an introduction to searching for books, articles, and more through the Luria Library's OneSearch.
Use library databases to find articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), as well as other types of sources. From off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.
These databases include different types of sources -- including scholarly, peer-reviewed articles -- on a wide range of topics. Academic Search Complete is a great place to start for most topics. JSTOR includes mostly scholarly sources but often does not include the most recent issues of scholarly journals.
Opposing Viewpoints includes information and arguments on multiple sides of current issues.
These databases include sources on topics related to the environment and sustainability.
These databases include current news sources such as newspaper and news magazine articles and broadcast news transcripts.
See the A-Z Databases list for a complete list of Luria Library databases. Use the drop-down menu to find databases by the subject area they focus on (such as psychology, history, or bio-medical sciences), or ask a librarian to recommend the best databases for your specific information need.
Google Scholar allows you to search for a variety of types of scholarly sources, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts, and court opinions, in all disciplines and fields of study.
Use Google Scholar to get a better sense of the scope of the research available on your topic.
Links to the full text of scholarly sources are sometimes available through Google scholar, but often links lead to publishers' websites, where you will be charged a fee for full text.
If you can't find the full text of the source for free through Google Scholar, use OneSearch to find it through the Luria Library.
If the Luria Library doesn't have the full text of the source you need, use Interlibrary Loan to request it from another library, or ask a librarian for help.